The influence of a masterminding improviser.

The killing of a Chinese bookie. John Cassavetes. I had to watch this movie as part of research on other movies. The movie itself is ok, but for some it is unwatchable. It seems that many directors use this movie as a reference for a certain style they are looking for. Post Noir is a common term I have heard. I think the movie is mostly used as a benchmark for sleazy and gritty truthfulness. To be honest, I did not go in expecting too much so the movie worked for me. I see the parallel and influence it has had. It is a very interesting if you want to understand how Cassavetes as a director/actor/writer was a huge influence and understand his legacy. (1976)

Leave a Reply

